Slim secrets products – smart snacking

As mentioned in a previous post I was sent some products from Slim Secrets to review (thanks Sharon 🙂 ) You can buy it online, including packs, from here, and they have a loty of gluten free options, including a pack you can see here

I’ll start with the low carb fit balls


These were really good. Mint is not really my thing, but it did give the balls a nice flavour and crunch, and really worked with this product. The climate here is HOT and when the boyfriend and I set off for a hike we do, we decided to share the fit balls before setting off, to see if they made a difference in energy levels. Ordinarily by the end of the walk we’re dying. There’s a drinking fountain on the hone stretch, and getting there is the only thing I’m focused on. Both of us found that we had more energy and fared a lot better, especially on that last stretch. These are something I’d keep in my gym bag, and have before the gym after work. I find that sometimes I don’t train as hard at that after work time. Lunch feels like eons ago, and I’m thinking about dinner, and the only thing in the way is a workout. The boyfriend had the Milk (Michael Klim) which are pretty much the same flavour, but a bit higher calorie and protein as well, and loved them. Now, he does like LOVE Mint, so they suited him to a T. For me, I love fresh mint in a meal, but mint flavoured sweets etc just remind me of eating toothpaste too much! I like my treats sweet, but as mentioned these use natural mint and it’s not toothpaste-y in the slightest!!

The next thing I had was these:

One word – Ah-mazing! Loved ‘em! Just as I’m not a massive Mint fan, my boyfriend is not a salt and vinegar fan. I thought “yesssssssss! I get these to myself!” Wrong.

No, those are NOT my man hands (Seinfeld reference)  holding the chips! He loved these too – boo for me! At 140 calories how can you go wrong. And they’re soooooo yum. Salty snack attack disaster curbed! I haven’t had the other flavour – sea salt and cheese & onion, but if they’re as good as these were there’s really no need to ever have normal chips again in my opinion. Guilt free chips? Yes please. The only downside is I’ve never seen these at my supermarket 😦

I was feeling all chocolately another night – and lazy too. Normally I’ll whip something up that’s healthified because that’s how I roll, but I had a binge buster on hand. A Cranberry and Choc’N’ Nuts bar.

Excuse the really shoddy picture taking! This was great, a bit of chocolate because sometimes there’s no substitute, and a girl needs what a girl needs. And for this girl that need is chocolate. I haven’t tried the vanilla almond one from this range, but will definitely be looking for it, sounds like a bit of me. Did I mention the best part – apart from taste? Under 100 Calories. That’s right UNDER 100 CALORIES, I’m shouting it out. There’ll definitely be some of these in my pantry at all times.

Another thing I LOVED was the night time binge buster bar. Does as the name says. I really couldn’t say it any better, and the name couldn’t be more apt.

It’s low carb, low GI decent protein at over 11g too, which is a added bonus. As I’ve mentioned in other posts, I’ve amped up the weight to two a day, and I had shared this before the second session, did the trick as I went hard. Tri’s that night, and I smashed it!

Afternoon cup of tea ( I LOVE tea, a tea fiend!!) with a cookie that’s filling, tasty and healthy? Yes please!! Great to take to work to solve the tea break dilemma, when everyone else is dipping into the cookie jar. BYO, and you’ll feel better for it. The cookie was chocolately and soft, and not over sweet, which is important for me…. But the cookie that was my  very fave, was actually not this choc one, shockingly (for me it’s usually chocolate at the end of the day), it was the trail mix cookie:

Yeah, again with the man hand. I shared this too, but if I knew the taste of this one I definitely would’ve stashed it, and taken this one to work and had it all to myself – Greedy bitch, but at 128 calories I could’ve been, and not felt at all guilty. For the calories or for the greediness for that matter. It’s AMAZING!! I’d say go out and get one right now. I’ve already asked my local Coles to stock the full range, but on their site I’ve just seen this pack is on sale. Win.

Last of all:

Protein Caramel Crunch bar. This one is a protein bar, and has the real protein bar consistency, you know that soft, chewy texture that they have? I wouldn’t exactly call it a ‘crunch’ bar, the whole time I was like – where’s the crunch. But, having said that, the caramel flavour is lovely, white choc gives that sweetness and the whopping 20 grams of protein is terrific. I just ripped a bit off this one, the boyfriend had this post-workout and loved it. He said he’ll definitely get this again, and have some in his gym bag. And that’s a huge endorsement from him, as he’s usually a protein shake post-workout kinda guy. Today I’ve been out swimming all day and am soooo tired, as mentioned I’ve got some family visiting so we went swimming and had a bbq lunch. I’ve actually sent my boyfriend out to the shop as I type to see if they have any of these, for me to have before gym, then dinner etc.

To sum up, my faves were the chips, if you see these I highly recommend trying them, I know I’ll be looking for them. Girls, if you’re like me and like a savoury snack, especially at that time of the month, this is your answer. LOVED the Cranberry and Choc’N’ Nuts bar too, and will be trying the other flavours in the under 100 calorie range too. Trail mix cookie, I love love love too. I’ll be taking a few of these on the road trip for afternoon tea, or after a long day at the beach treat. I know, what a hard life, huh? Haha. I think I’ll take some of the Binge Buster bars too, and even though it wasn’t in this sample selection, I’ve mentioned in prior posts my love of the Craving Crusher cookies & cream bar.

For him, he’s a fan of either the fit balls, but they’ll look at bit girly for him, so the MILK protein bombs (& they’ve got about 3g more protein). They’re pretty much the same in flavour, and the White choc and caramel bar… although by the prevalence of man hands in my pics, you can see he was pretty much a fan of it all.

Leave a Reply

