Turkey Mince Shepherds Pie with Cauliflower Mash

ImageAs mentioned in my last post, I made a turkey mince Shepherds pie, with a cauliflower mash top. A great healthy lower calorie and lower fat version of a favourite comfort food. You need:

For the pie:

1 onion, finely chopped

1 carrot, peeled and finely chopped

500g minced Turkey

2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

400g can chopped tomatoes

110g (4oz) frozen peas

1 tbsp tomato puree    (optional, I was all out but usually have some and add it)

salt and freshly ground black pepper

For the mash:

1 Cauliflower

salt and freshly ground black pepper

50g Cheddar, finely grated

Firstly, preheat your oven to 190 degrees C ( which is 375 degrees F). Next you fry up the turkey mince in a pan, with some onion, and salt and pepper or whatever spices you like. I used Vegeta and chilli. Then add carrots until they’re a little tender. Then add a tin of whole peeled tomatoes and a few tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce. I just added to taste, but trust me, don’t skip it as it makes the dish in my opinion. Cook it down for quite some time, longer cooking times are great, a minimum of half hour though, you don’t want it watery at all, especially as cauliflower mash can be quite watery. Add peas towards the end, they don’t take long to defrost, and you’ll be baking it anyway.

Seperately, steam some cauliflower. I used about 3/4 of a whole cauliflower, and also had a potatoe in there (i’m trying to use up food we have at home before we go away). Once it’s soft mash it. You can add butterImage

I need to clean my cooktops, I’m kinda mortified at this pic!!

Image

Image

Enjoy! Comfort food deluxe!

Leave a Reply

